Beauty Assemblage

by Meredith Angeline Hinton

http://www.relevantmagazine.com/media/rtv/watch/518/beautiful-things

This song inspired me this morning. With each new day we seem to stumble upon another natural disaster. From the sinkhole in Guatemala to the oil spill in the Gulf. Can anything beautiful come from the earth? The earth seems to be destroying itself. Where is the hope? Where is the beauty? Can it be found? Can it be made?

I contemplate my cosmic plight often. Currently I find myself in the midst of destruction. It is a challenge to make beautiful things in a world filled with broken, shattered pieces of hope. Maybe beauty is in recognizing that change can happen? Maybe beauty is adding action to our realizations? Maybe beauty is being able to create something new from disasters. Maybe beauty is benevolent love that requires nothing, but gives everything.

