Did you hear that?

by Meredith Angeline Hinton

We’ve all heard the saying, “Silence speaks louder than words.”

If this is true, would it mean that once the injustice of our tongues cease, silence will speak and something will be heard? How can this be heard? Silence heard? Will it be heard by all? It can’t be heard with our ears; I’m sure it must be an issue of the heart. Do our hearts speak the same words?

If words aren’t coming out, what is the point of listening? What do you listen for? Can you listen with your heart and not with your ears? How many people actually try this? What would happen? What would be known?

I am a fan of silence. Although there are many times in which I am deeply frustrated by silence, I still remain a fan. I have a natural inclination to talk and sometimes I find that its better if I remain silent. Even now, as I am writing this I feel that I am destroying the aim of this post. Anyways…

What do you find in silence? When I am sitting in a quiet room I usually find my breath in silence. Breath resembles life, so do you find life in the midst of silence? I’d like to think so…

