Whenever you’re ready. No! Now!

by Meredith Angeline Hinton

If we pray, we will believe;
If we believe, we will love
If we love, we will serve.

-Mother Teresa

What do you believe? How do you view life? Social justice is something that I believe in and I am afraid I am doing too little to help the cause. I have a lot of opinions on homelessness, poverty, war, hunger, and peace between different faiths. I have a lot of hopes and dreams for the future of those that fall in the margins of society but, what am I doing to make those dreams reality? What is it going to take to make them reality? The answer is people. I need help. We all need help. Something has to happen. So what are we going to do about this depredation?

I fear that we have become too comfortable with suffering. I hate that as the news barks in the background of our cozy homes we are able to continue eating dinner as we hear about the pains of our neighbors across the state and world. Are we growing deaf to the cries of the suffering? Are we going blind to the faces of the lonely, poor, and outcast? Have we ever truly looked or heard before? It is vital that we take a closer look and listen harder. We need to get in the face of suffering. What happened to the beautiful command of “Loving our neighbor as our self?” What has happened to love?

Belief and action must go hand in hand. Does your heart break for those around you? What is your motivation each day? Are you self seeking and blind to those around you with eyes that only see your needs? Or, are you stepping away from the mirror and looking into the eyes of another?

What is your next step? What do you believe?

